47th Annual *Drosophila* Research Conference

The 47th Annual *Drosophila* Research Conference was held on 29 March – 2 April 2006 at the Hilton Americas-Houston hotel and conference center, Houston, Texas. The 2006 Organizing Committee was Hugo Bellen (Baylor College of Medicine, Houston), Ron Davis (Baylor College of Medicine, Houston), Georg Halder (The University of Texas, M.D. Anderson Cancer Center, Houston), and Graeme Mardon (Baylor College of Medicine, Houston). The conference was sponsored by The *Drosophila* Board in association with the Genetics Society of America, 9650 Rockville Pike, Bethesda, MD 20814-3998. The Program and Abstracts Volume lists 879 presentations, including 136 platform session talks and 743 posters. Plenary lectures and Workshops are listed here in the order in which they were presented.

Historical Address Speaker

Thom Kaufman (Indiana University, Bloomington, IN). A century of Drosophila: 100 years and counting.

Plenary Lectures

- Leslie Griffith (Brandeis University, Waltham, MA). Sex and the single fly: Pheromone-driven courtship plasticity.
- Marek Mlodzik (Mount Sinai School of Medicine, New York, NY). Regulation and specificity of Frizzled/Planar cell polarity signaling.
- Gary Karpen (University of California, Berkeley, CA). Settling the genome's last frontier.
- Manfred Frasch (Mount Sinai School of Medicine, New York, NY). Signaling and transcriptional networks during mesodermal tissue development.
- Leslie Vosshall (The Rockefeller University, New York, NY). How flies smell: From receptors to perception.
- Sean Carroll (University of Wisconsin, Madison, WI). Endless flies most beautiful: Diversity through cis-regulatory evolution.
- Richard Mann (Columbia University, New York, NY). Transcriptional logic of appendage development.
- Gero Miesenbock (Yale University School of Medicine, New Haven, CT). Change of mind: Remote control of behavior.
- Chuck Langley (University of California, Davis, CA). Polymorphisms and divergence across the genome of *D. simulans*.
- Barry Dickson (Research Institute of Molecular Pathology, Vienna, Austria). Love and war in *Drosophila*.
- Bill Chia (Temasek Lifesciences Laboratory, Singapore). Asymmetric division of Drosophila neuroblasts.
- Troy Littleton (Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge, MA). Genetic analysis of synaptic communication at the *Drosophila* neuromuscular junction.

Workshops

Ecdysone Workshop

Organizers: Andrew J. Andres (University of Nevada, Las Vegas, NV) and Robert Ward (University of Kansas, Lawrence, KS).

Genetics of Lifespan

Organizer: Scott Pletcher (Baylor College of Medicine, Houston, TX).

Stem Cell Workshop

Organizers: Haifin Lin (Duke University Medical School, Durham, NC) and Sumana Datta (Emory University School of Medicine, Atlanta, GA).

RNAi Technologies and High Throughput

Organizer: Bernard Mathey-Prevot (Harvard Medical School, Boston, MA).

Live Cell Imaging and Digital Movie Making

Organizer: Steve Paddock (University of Wisconsin, Madison, WI).

RNA Biology

Organizer: William Mattox (University of Texas, M.D. Anderson Cancer Center, Houston, TX).

Gas Sensing and Responses in *Drosophila*

Organizer: Gavriel G. Haddad (University of California, San Diego, CA).

Learning and Memory

Organizer: Scott Waddell (University of Massachusetts Medical School, Worcester, MA).

Population Genomics Workshop

Organizer: David Begun (University of California, Davis, CA).

Immunity, Hematopoiesis, and Pathogenesis

Organizers: Neal Silverman (University of Massachusetts Medical School, Worcester, MA) and Todd Schlenke (Emory University, Atlanta, GA).

Drosophila Research and Pedagogy at Primarily Undergraduate Institutions

Organizer: Susan Halsell (James Madison University, Harrisonburg, VA).

Progress, Updates, and Prospects for the Species Genome Sequencing Project

Organizer: Thom Kaufman (Indiana University, Bloomington, IN).

The *Drosophila* Board

The Board's duties include: overseeing community resource centers and addressing other research and resource issues that affect the entire *Drosophila* research community. The Board also administers the finances for the annual North America *Drosophila* Research Conference and its associated awards, and it chooses the organizers and the site of the annual meeting. The Board consists of eight regional representatives and four international representatives, who serve 3-year terms. The three elected officers are President, President-Elect, and Treasurer. In addition, the Board has *ex officio* members who represent *Drosophila* community resources or centers. For more information about the Board and the summaries of the annual Board meetings, see: Fly Board under the News menu at the FlyBase web site: flybase.bio.indiana.edu.

Drosophila Board Membership as of 47th Annual Drosophila Research Conference March 2006

President: Mark Krasnow (Stanford University)

President-Elect: Trudy MacKay (North Carolina State University)

Past-Presidents: Lynn Cooley (Yale University); Barbara Wakimoto (University of Washington)

Past-President & Elections Chair: Ruth Lehmann (New York University School of Medicine)

Treasurer: Richard Fehon (University of Chicago)

Regional Representatives:

New England: Mitzi Kuroda (Harvard University)

Heartland: Dennis McKearin (University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center)

Midwest: Lori Wallrath (University of Iowa)

Mid-Atlantic: Claude Desplan (New York University) Southeast: Rebecca Kellum (University of Kentucky)

Northwest: Barbara Taylor (Oregon State University College of Science)

California: Ken Burtis (University of California, Davis) Great Lakes: Amanda Simcox (Ohio State University)

International Representatives:

Asia: Yasushi Hiromi (National Institute of Genetics, Mishima, Japan) Australia/Oceania: Robert Saint (Australian National University, Canberra)

Canada: Henry Krause (University of Toronto)

Europe: David Ish-Horowicz (Cancer Research UK, London)

Ex Officio – Representing Drosophila Resources:

Bill Gelbart (FlyBase; Harvard University)

Gerry Rubin (BDGP & FlyBase; University of California, Berkeley)

Susan Celniker (BDGP; Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, Berkeley)

Thom Kaufman (Bloomington Stock Center & FlyBase; Indiana University)

Kathy Matthews (Bloomington Stock Center & FlyBase; Indiana University)

Kevin Cook (Bloomington Stock Center & Nomenclature Committee; Indiana University)

Teri Markow (Tucson Species Stock Center; University of Arizona)

Masa Toshi Yamamoto (DGRC, Kyoto)

Jim Thompson (Drosophila Information Service; University of Oklahoma)

Michael Ashburner (Europe & FlyBase; University of Cambridge)

Hugo Bellen (Bloomington Stock Center Advisory Committee & P Element Project; Baylor College of Medicine)

Allan Spradling (P-Element Project; HHMI/Carnegie Institute)

Helen Salz (Sandler Committee; Case Western Reserve University, Cleveland)

Scott Hawley (Nomenclature Committee; Stowers Institute for Medical Research)

David Bilder (Image Competition; University of California, Berkeley)

Chuck Langley (At-large; University of California, Davis)